Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0

Identifying These Robots

15 posts in this topic

Posted

Hello, My name is Jeffrey 19 years old and I'm from the Netherlands

I'm a graphic designer for theme parks.

I'm new here and till today I wasn't that enthusiastic about robot toys but I love the history and design of these

objects. And I'm a huge fan of 50's streamline design, space age, about the way they thought about the future back

then.

My question is, Today I bought these two old robot toys in boxes on a small flea market but I want to know some more information.

First one is "mechanical mighty robot" in a different box than the ones I found on google.

The second one is this gold robot that's placed in a wrong box (the box was for the television robot).

They both have numbers "mechanical" box has number 305 and the "television" box number 307

post-1680-0-81794800-1339918214.jpg

post-1680-0-97726300-1339918224.jpg

post-1680-0-14891800-1339918239.jpg

post-1680-0-36380800-1339918251.jpg

post-1680-0-61341900-1339918264.jpg

post-1680-0-27700200-1339918276.jpg

post-1680-0-06725200-1339918288.jpg

Posted

Hi Jeffreys, welcome aboard! :cheers:

Your robots are only 5 years old. They were made by dutch company Dekotrends.

Read more here:

Made my very first post about those artificially aged robots too:

(Special message to thx1138: I was faster :biggrin:)

Posted

Welcome to Alphadrome Jeffrey, I am sorry to have to tell you the robots you bought appear to be current reproductions that have been artificially aged and put in boxes that have had the same treatment, there is a post about them somewhere on Alphadrome, but I can't seem to find it at the moment. I seem to recall somebody in France was doing this and it has caught a lot of people out. Don't let it put you off, once you have had the real thing in your hands you will know why the relatively small group of us here on Alpha and the other collectors worldwide are so enthusiastic.

Posted (edited)